THUMBMAGIC ALTERNATIVE

WThumb vs Thumbmagic

Thumbmagic builds thumbnails from your video and an avatar, from $29 a month. WThumb starts from a thumbnail that already won, with your face or none, and returns the landscape and the Shorts version at 2048 × 1152, from $12 a month.

Start free

Thumbmagic facts checked on

AT A GLANCE

Price to start
WThumb: $12 a month
Thumbmagic: $29 a month
Output size
WThumb: 2048 × 1152, no upscale needed
Thumbmagic: 1280 × 720 on its feature pages
16:9 and 9:16 from one brief
WThumb: Yes, both at once, recomposed
Thumbmagic: Not stated
Faceless from a reference with a person
WThumb: Yes: the person is taken out
Thumbmagic: An avatar in your place
Your face in the thumbnail
WThumb: At generation, no extra cost
Thumbmagic: Avatars: 1 on Starter, 10 on Pro

WThumb and Thumbmagic, side by side

What is comparedWThumbThumbmagic
Cheapest plan$12 a month for 30 credits (1 credit = 1 thumbnail), or $9 a month billed yearlyStarter: $29 a month for 100 thumbnails ($17 billed yearly)
Largest plan$56 a month for 300 creditsBusiness: $99 a month for unlimited thumbnails ($59 billed yearly)
Output size2048 × 1152 (16:9) or 1152 × 2048 (9:16), straight from generation1280 × 720 on its feature pages; the 4K on its homepage is not explained on any plan
16:9 and 9:1616:9, 9:16 or both from one brief, each recomposed for its frame9:16 templates; turning a 16:9 reference into 9:16 is not stated
Faceless from a reference with a personYes: the person is taken out and the frame rebuilt without anyoneFaceless means an avatar in place of your face
Your faceYour photo goes in as the thumbnail is made, at no extra cost; save 1, 2 or 5 personas by planAvatars from one photo: 1 on Starter, up to 10 on Pro
Your own images or logoUp to four per brief: a product, a logo, a screenshotNot supported, per its own February 2026 comparison post
Library with outlier scoresThousands of thumbnails from popular channels, each with its outlier score; free with an account, Recreate in one clickTemplates and layouts, without performance data
Start fromA YouTube link, any image, or a plain descriptionA YouTube URL, a video upload or a script of 100 characters or more; replicating a thumbnail is on Pro and up
Free to try2 free credits, no card3 free thumbnails, no card
Changes after generationDescribe a change in plain words for a new version, 1 credit eachClick-to-edit editor and a text mode, 1 credit per edit

Thumbmagic prices and plans are from Thumbmagic's own pages (its pricing page served by Submagic, its homepage, its feature pages and its February 2026 comparison post on thumbmagic.co), as read on September 23, 2026. The WThumb column comes from WThumb pricing and the product. If something here is out of date, tell us from the help button and we will correct it.

WHY WTHUMB

A winning thumbnail as the starting point

$12 covers a channel

30 credits a month on the smallest plan: one thumbnail for every upload of a channel that posts daily. Thumbmagic starts at $29 a month.

Faceless, even from a reference with a face

Skip the photo and WThumb takes the person out of the reference and rebuilds the frame without anyone. Any winning thumbnail can become a faceless one: made for faceless channels and for creators who automate their uploads. On Thumbmagic, faceless means an avatar in your place.

Landscape and Shorts from one brief

Ask for 16:9, 9:16 or both at once. WThumb recomposes the idea for each frame instead of cropping, so a landscape reference becomes a real Shorts thumbnail and the other way round. Thumbmagic's pages do not describe turning a 16:9 reference into 9:16.

A library of thumbnails that won

Thousands of thumbnails from popular channels, each with its outlier score: the video's views over its channel's median. Sort by it, press Recreate, and the winner becomes your brief. Free with an account. Thumbmagic offers templates, without performance data.

Full HD+ with no upscale

Every thumbnail comes out at 2048 × 1152 (1152 × 2048 for Shorts), sharper than 1080p, straight from generation. Nothing to upscale and nothing extra to pay. Thumbmagic's feature pages state 1280 × 720.

Your product, your logo

Add up to four extra images to a brief: a product, a logo, a screenshot. Thumbmagic's own February 2026 comparison post says it does not support uploading your own images or logos.

What Thumbmagic has that WThumb does not

  • A manual editor: click-to-edit, a text mode, version history and six preset expressions, 1 credit per edit.
  • Generation from a video: upload a finished video or a script and it proposes thumbnails from it.

Pick WThumb if

you know the thumbnail you want to beat, you want your face, product or logo in it, or a faceless version, in both formats at 2048 × 1152.

Start free

Pick Thumbmagic if

you want thumbnails proposed from a finished video, and to tune them by hand in an editor.

FAQ

What people ask before switching

To start, yes: $12 a month against $29 on September 23, 2026, and $28 buys 120 WThumb credits, one thumbnail each, where $29 buys 100 thumbnails on Thumbmagic. At the top, Thumbmagic's yearly Pro and Business plans cost less per thumbnail.

Yes. Skip the photo and WThumb takes the person out of the reference and rebuilds the frame without anyone. On Thumbmagic, the faceless option puts an avatar in your place.

WThumb exports 2048 × 1152 for 16:9 and 1152 × 2048 for 9:16. Thumbmagic's feature and use-case pages say 1280 × 720; its homepage mentions 4K, which no plan on its pricing page explains.

No. WThumb starts from a thumbnail reference (a YouTube link or an image) or a plain description, plus your title, so a typical thumbnail is ready in about 30 seconds, before the video is even edited. Thumbmagic starts from a YouTube URL, a video upload or a script.

In WThumb, yes: add up to four extra images to a brief. Thumbmagic's own February 2026 comparison post says it does not support uploading your own images or logos.

Yes. In WThumb you describe the change in plain words and get a new version, 1 credit per revision; there is no manual editor. Thumbmagic has a click-to-edit editor at 1 credit per edit.